Top Categories

Glock Perfection: Fact or Fiction?

Glock Perfection. I’m sure you’ve heard Glock’s slogan before, but just how much truth is there in it? A lot might depend on whether or not you’re a fan of Glock…

Though I’ve shot many Glocks over the years, I’ve only recently become a Glock owner. I’ve long been more of a Smith & Wesson M&P guy, which is arguably Glock’s biggest competition in the market. So here’s a long time M&P fan’s perspective on the Glock Perfection claim. I will be primarily using my Gen 4 Glock 19 to make my case.

Perfection Hits

First I’d like to point out some things I really like about the Glock. I have recently become a Glock fan (convert?) of sorts, and for good reason. Glock gets a LOT right. This is by no means an exhaustive list, but here are some things I really like about Glocks in general, and my Glock 19 specifically.

Size/Weight Ratio

Pretty much every Glock model is the Gold standard for size and weight in its class. You’ll be hard pressed to find a gun that carries the same number of rounds, at a smaller size and/or a lighter weight. There probably ARE examples, but none come to mind.

The point is, Glocks are extremely size efficient and lightweight. This is a big deal to me, because in my opinion, size efficiency and weight are two of the biggest benefits of plastic guns.

Reliability

Aside from the well documented Gen 4 bobbles, Glocks are some of the most reliable handguns in the world. Glock reliability is legendary and speaks for itself.

Accuracy

In my experience, Glock’s are pretty accurate across the board, and this includes my Glock 19. I might do some M&P/Glock accuracy head to head comparisons in an upcoming post (I don’t currently own a stock M&P), but over the years I have always been impressed with Glock accuracy.

Perfection Misses

Glock gets a lot right, but it is no means perfect. No need to wait for the wrap up on this one – Glock Perfection doesn’t exist out of the box. Here’s where I think it falls short.

Plastic Sights

The first miss is in some ways the most obvious and well documented – the stock plastic sights. They just plain suck in my opinion. Now to be fair, let me say that yes, they absolutely do work. But I’ve only had my Glock 19 for a couple weeks now, and the front sight is already starting to show holster wear.

I will be replacing stock sights with a set of 10-8 Performance sights.

Ergonomics

Another big area where Glock Perfection falls short is ergonomics. In the past, I have never been a big fan of Glock ergos. With the Gen 4, this has improved somewhat, but the Gen 4′s ergonomics still fall well short of the competition. I’m also not a huge fan of the Glock grip angle, though admittedly it’s much improved with a Grip Force Adapter installed.

Mag Release

This probably belongs under the ergonomics category, but I dislike it so much that I’m giving the mag release it’s own space. I think it sucks. Yes it works, but again comparing to the competition, it’s hard to actuate and not as usable. Some will argue that it should be a little hard so that you don’t accidentally drop the magazine…ok maybe. But the M&P mag release works great, and I’ve never had a problem with the magazine being dropped accidentally, so I’m not sure how valid that argument is.

I will be replacing the mag release, so if you have a suggestion let me know in the comments below.

Wrapping Up

So that’s my opinion – Glock Perfection doesn’t exist out of the box. Once I replace the sights and mag release and get a few more rounds down range, we’ll talk again.

, ,

22 Responses to Glock Perfection: Fact or Fiction?

  1. Rodger July 18, 2012 at 7:36 am #

    Brandon, I made a few modifications on my G19 also. I removed the mag release and slightly bent the spring to lessen the tension. It releases the mag now with just a slight bit of pressure. It has never dropped accidentally. You might try this before spending money on a replacement. Of course I replaced the sights with Truglo TFO. Installed Talon Grips on the grip and also on the slide serrations. I had to buy an extra set for the slide, but for only 15 dollars, it did not break the bank. The slide is easier for me to pull back and with no steel touching my skin for IWB. I always cut the sweat guard off of my holsters. The Glock will not rust due to body sweat here in Texas. The Glock is the perfect handgun.

    • Brandon July 18, 2012 at 7:47 am #

      Thanks Roger, that’s interesting that you put Talon Grips on the slide serrations. Did you do both sides?

  2. Ira G July 18, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    Brandon, as Longtime Glock owner ( have owned at least 12, currently own a well worn everyday carry G26 with over 10k in rounds shot and a Newer Gen3 G19) you made some good points but where the perfection comes from in my opinion is that as you stated they work and work well, can little things be improved , yes if that is what you want to do, the only change to any of my glocks I ever do is add Talon grip or mag extenders, that is it. I have never had a single malfunction or issue, to me that is perfection.

    • Brandon July 18, 2012 at 8:29 am #

      Well said Ira. I wish they would fix a few glaring shortcomings, but yeah, Glock gets a lot right.

  3. Jim July 18, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    Because you aren’t a “fan” of Glock ergonomics it’s a miss? The Glock is a combat pistol with a grip designed to fit a modern isosceles fighting stance.

    Most of your misses seem subjective interpretations at best, reposts of online comments from Glock copy forums at worst.

    • Brandon July 18, 2012 at 10:46 am #

      Well, yeah man, the whole post is subjective. It’s just my opinion. I have a buddy who loves the Glock sights and mag release. The only thing he swaps out is the slide catch, which I actually think is fine.

      Also, I don’t post in (or read) forums.

    • Jason July 18, 2012 at 11:08 am #

      +1 to what Paul said below…Jim, man take it easy. I think the Gen 4 ergos are pretty good, but they aren’t as good as an M&P (that was another OPINION by the way). Sights? Big suck.

    • TK October 16, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

      Jim do us all a favor and get over yourself.

      • Ira G October 16, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

        Agreed, Brandon is one of the most fair Bloggers or I will even go so far as to say journalists online, he isn’t in anyone’s pocket and gives away pretty much all the test items that are sent to him. He is giving his opinion and no one elses despite what you think.. I love the Ergos’s (not as much as my 1911′s) but they have worked for me over many years, if he felt uncomfortable then he should report it .. Brandon does not follow anyone else’s path sir..

        • Brandon October 16, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

          Thanks Ira! Sometimes being honest gets me in trouble too haha.

  4. Mike S July 18, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    Your issue with the magazine release (Gen3 and Gen4) is easily fixed by swapping it out for the Vickers/Tango Down release. It’s a fifteen dollar swap that makes all the difference in the world.

    IMO the stock plastic sights that come from the factory are just placeholders until you decide which aftermarket sights to replace them with.

    • Brandon July 18, 2012 at 10:59 am #

      Thanks Mike, I’ve had a couple different people email me about the Vickers release. Sounds like a winner.

      • Ben October 16, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

        I’ll give another vote for the Vickers release. It doesn’t look THAT extended, but it is very noticeable during high-speed mag changes. The stock Gen 4 is a slight improvement over the Gen 3′s original, but if I could change the mag release on my duty G17, it’d be a Vickers.

  5. Paul July 18, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    @Jim. Last time I checked, this was his blog…. which correct me if I am wrong, entitles him to HIS OPINION. If he considers Glock ergos a miss (which a TON of people do), for you to label his opinions as “subjective interpretations” is comical at best. Are there “scientific interpretations” that he should be using? As to your inference that he is merely regurgitating “online comments from Glock copy forums”, is that a joke or is that a serious comment? I mean really… Glock has been around for what, 30 years and pretty much followed the same design in essentially their entire product line? If someone has some new insight on Glocks that has not been previously posted on some site on the interwebz…. please enlighten us. Btw, I have owned multiple 1911s, Sigs, HKs, and yes…..3 Glocks. I have used them, carried them, and have no problems with the ergos personally.

  6. Will July 19, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    How do you like the G19 Gen4 in comparison to your Walther PPQ?

    • Brandon July 19, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

      I’ll do a comparison post soon.

      • Jamey July 20, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

        It would be awesome if you could throw the M&P9c in the comparison mix as well.

        • Brandon October 16, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

          Oh alright. :)

  7. Mike October 16, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    Good review! As much as people may hate on Glock, a person cannot deny them. My most accurate, reliable piece is my Glock 21. I currently own and have owned many Glocks and while I’ve traded and sold off a few for other projects, my Glock count is back on the rise.

    I have 4 M&P autos (4.25″ Pro, 9c and 2 M&P45′s). The Glock stays incredibly spartan giving a very blank pallet to do whatever it is that you want to do with a gun. But, it is also brilliant out of the box if you opt to not change a single thing. I try to keep my guns as stock as possible and I think that is where Glock gets another +1 in the Doing it Right column. Being able to be all things to just about any shooter.

    I was all in with the M&P for quite a bit; I shelved most of my 9mm Glocks in favor of the M&P because of the beaver tail on the frame of the Smith. My high aggressive grip would get my hand chewed by the slide on my 19/17 sized Glocks every single range session. I loved the grip on the Smith, the slightly more pronounced controls for the slide stop and mag release. Shot my M&Ps for months and months and then a holster I had on backorder arrived for my old warhorse, the G21. I figured I’d pull it out and give it a go until my custom M&P45 holster arrived. That may have been a very expensive run since I found out why I liked that big Glock above all the other guns I’ve owned before or since. The Glock is back on the hip and the Smiths are setting in the safe waiting for a chance again.

    I’m setting up for several more Glock purchases, especially the Gen 4 since they’ve gotten their initial growing pain problems out of the way.

    Thanks for the great review, keep them up!

  8. Ernest December 10, 2012 at 7:09 am #

    Glocks to me are good guns although not perfect. Aside the factors you attest to there is the fact that the out of the box trigger stinks. This is due to the 5lb connector and to me the trigger break. Most people change out the 5lb connector in favor of the 3lb one. Along with this they also change out the firing pin spring to a lighter one. This does give the Glock a much better trigger pull which for me makes accuracy a lot better. The sight are crap but only because I am so used to shooting with Sigs, Walther, and HK pistols which I shoot sight on and not at a six oclock POA. Given that the Glock is plenty accurate once you make the proper sight adjustment. What it has over a lot of these guns is a hell of a lot parts for which you can modify the Glock to your liking. Glock mags are in comparison to other hi cap gun mags are cheap. For a better out of the box trigger on a striker fired pistol with great sights and ergos the PPQ cant be beat.
    However for a gun you can truly make your own thats reliable, durable, modifiable and wont break the bank I’ll give it to Glock.

  9. Dustin June 21, 2013 at 11:51 pm #

    I recently have become a glock owner as well. I am a long time XD line owner but have shot the glock. One thing glock did do was the gen 4 and its ability to fit the hand instead of being stuck with a 2×4 lol the big selling point for me was the trigger and the fact it cost next to nothing to make it even better. I enjoy the glock enough to start looking for a 19 and 26. Brothers need to e united haha

  10. Phil July 11, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

    Vickers Tactical Mag Release works wonders for me.

%d bloggers like this: