Top Categories

Walther PPQ 3,000 Round Update

Walther PPQ pictured above with a Boxer Tactical Stryker belt and a Kaluban Cloak holster and double mag carrier.

It’s been a couple months since I posted my 2,000 round update on the awesome Walther PPQ. There’s a pretty good reason for that – I’ve been busy testing other guns and gear, and ammo is expensive! But I finally crossed the 3,000 round threshold, and it’s time for another update.

3,000 Rounds, 0 Failures

The Walther PPQ continues to be one of my all-time favorite pistols. So far since buying the gun, I’ve only cleaned and lubricated it once, and have yet to have a single malfunction of any kind. The PPQ continues to be extremely accurate, and I can’t say enough good things about the ergonomics and the trigger, which I adore.

Concealed Carry

I’ve been carrying the pistol in the appendix position in a Bradley Custom Concealment Shield-A, which I will formally review once Bradley Custom Concealment’s site comes back online. The short version is that this is a fantastic holster and a great way to conceal a full-size pistol like the PPQ.

We’re heading into summer though, and it’s already hot here in south Texas, so the PPQ will likely see less concealed carry over the hot summer months in favor of something smaller, namely my Smith & Wesson Shield 9.

Accessories

My PPQ is stock, and it’s going to stay that way unless I find some sights that I can’t live without. But I have managed to pick up a few more magazines. If there’s a low point to the PPQ, it’s the cost of magazines, but there’s a cost savings trick – don’t buy the Walther PPQ factory magazines.

Instead, buy Magnum Research Baby Eagle magazines, which are the exact same thing for about half the price. I know, this is usually a bad idea, but they are both made by Mec-Gar, are very high quality, and are truly the same thing.

Wrapping Up

If you don’t already own a PPQ, you’re missing out. My wife likes mine so much, she wants one of her own, which I must say I was thrilled to hear. Until next time!

Walther PPQ 2,000 Round Update

Walther PPQ 1,000 Round Update

, , ,

21 Responses to Walther PPQ 3,000 Round Update

  1. Dr. L. May 4, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    Academy will be getting in more PPQ’s soon, if you want one for your wife.

    • Brandon May 4, 2012 at 9:28 am #

      Thanks!

  2. STRACE August 30, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    Nice to see someone with a HIGH round count for the PPQ! I bought mine when they first came out at the GRB convention center for $475. It’s awesome to see the rise of such outstanding firearm.

    I’m close to approaching 2000k rounds myself, the only issue I have is when I get my gun from the safe in the morning is whether or not to grab my Glock 23 Gen4 or my Walther PPQ!

    On a more serious note do you still feel that the BCC Shield-A is the best AIWB for the PPQ? Also, on the Kaluban Cloak OWB holster since it rides higher does the butt (top when holster) of the gun flare out away from the body or does it hug close to the body like a Raven Concealment?

    STRACE
    Houston, TX

    • Brandon August 30, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

      Your comment reminds me that I need to do the 4k rounds post…this is a great gun for sure.

      Since testing the BCC Shield-A, I have found a number of excellent AIWB holsters, many of which we have reviewed with more to come. I still adore the Shield-A, but BCC hasn’t been able to keep up with demand and is currently going through a company restructure. I have high hopes though.

      The Kaluban Cloak holster rides about the same as every other OWB kydex rig. How close it rides to the body is all about finding the right cant for your body and the loops. The smaller the loops, the closer it hugs the body. Kaluban has tight fitting loops, and they also have not so tight fitting loops (progressive loops).

      Hope that helps!

  3. Psydr September 5, 2012 at 3:50 am #

    As of this afternoon, I now have exactly 4,600 rounds through my PPQ-9, and I have only experienced one malfunction: A faulty primer, so no fault to the PPQ.

    I’ve never experienced this level of reliability before and am in awe of this firearm. I have also experienced very good accuracy considering its compact design and have purchased a PHLster Skeleton IWB holster based on the review by this site. I couldn’t be more happy.

  4. Chris Black March 22, 2013 at 10:30 am #

    On magnum reasearch’s website they say that the baby desert eagle mags will not fit the wakther ppq. Not sure whats going on there but I was hoping to pick up another mag or two.

    • Brandon March 22, 2013 at 11:11 am #

      I don’t know what to tell you. Perhaps they have changed since this post was written? All I know is, I have a bunch of them and they all work flawlessly.

      • Chris April 2, 2013 at 12:38 am #

        The website is correct. The magazines listed on their website now are for the baby desert eagle only and will not work with the ppq, I’ve tried. The magazine that Brandon is using is for the MR series Baby Eagle, which is the polymer baby eagle, and those magazines work flawlessly. They currently don’t have any listed on their site for 9mm due to the high demand.

    • Ty Jiles February 3, 2014 at 12:00 am #

      i own 2 baby eagle mags and they work without a single problem. will be buying more

  5. DH May 10, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

    Don’t the SW99/P99 mags fit (?)

    • Brandon May 10, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

      Haven’t tried them…

  6. CF May 29, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    I have had a PPQ-9 since they came out and carry this gun when weather permits. With over 6K rounds fired, this pistol still amazes me with it’s accuracy and flawless performance. Mostly though, that incredible trigger. As far as mags are concerned I have several MR Baby Eagle mags and two P99 mags that work fine. I was told the P99 mags would not work, but they function flawlessly. I am not too happy with the Walther remodel of this pistol though. One of the selling points to me was the paddle mag release which has gone away. Must be all those 1911 people complaining.

  7. Eric September 3, 2013 at 9:26 pm #

    The baby eagle and P99 mags do not work in the PPQ-M2, due to the redesigned mag release on the updated gun. Such is my understanding. The PPQ will be joining its glock brethren at my house soon….sooooon….

    • Brandon September 3, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

      Thanks Eric.

  8. chuck hester September 18, 2013 at 9:57 am #

    Glad everyone is enjoying their PPQ’s. I just purchased mine last week end and it functioned for 80 rounds the first time out and suffered a total failure. Gun went back to the dealer monday morning.

    • Brandon September 18, 2013 at 9:59 am #

      Whoa! What was the failure?

    • John October 18, 2013 at 12:35 am #

      Is it an M2?

    • Mitchell August 27, 2014 at 2:08 am #

      Of course, no reply….

  9. Ron March 15, 2014 at 7:40 pm #

    I am considering buying this gun but I am also looking at the Springfield XDM 3.8 9mm. I am really struggling to make a decision. I have two carry guns, the Kahr PM9 and the S&W M&P Shield, both in 9mm. I want something with a higher round count but I dont have to have 19 rounds. Some have expressed concern that the PPQ trigger might be too light for Concealed Carry or Home Defense but you did not express any concern about that. I’m leaning towards the PPQ. Any words of advice on making my choice?

    • Brandon March 16, 2014 at 1:15 pm #

      “Too light” will be relative. What is too light for you may not be too light for someone else. All you can do is try it out and see if it works for you. Good luck.

  10. Thomas March 22, 2014 at 9:08 pm #

    I’m interested in what Chuck’s “total failure” was. That undefined statement doesn’t help anyone reading these threads make an informed decision. I’m willing to believe he wrote that with the best intentions, but it’s the equivalent of “the gun sucked, took it back.” Please elaborate as to what exactly it did, with what type of ammuntion & magazines.

%d bloggers like this: