Top Categories

Walther PPQ 2,000 Round Update

2,000 Rounds, 0 Failures

In the past couple weeks I have been to the range several times with my Walther PPQ, finally passing the 2,000 round mark. As I mentioned in my 1,000 Round Update, I decided to go 2,000 rounds before cleaning or lubricating the pistol to see how it would perform. So far so good!

Up until today, I hadn’t field stripped the gun since I bought it, so I wasn’t really even sure how dirty the gun would be internally. Having never gone 2,000 rounds without cleaning a pistol before, I was pretty surprised how clean the PPQ was (see the gallery below).

Performance

I have used a mixture of ammunition so far in the Mini Endurance Test, but the bulk of it has been Winchester White Box FMJ 115 grain, Remington UMC MC 115 grain, Remington JHP 115 grain, and PMC FMJ 115 grain. You guessed it, the cheapest stuff I could find. The gun has functioned flawlessly, and continues to be a smooth and comfortable shooter.

Accuracy

Accuracy is still outstanding. The gun has been shot by many different shooters, and everyone has been very happy with the way the gun has shot. Here’s an example.

I recently used my PPQ to teach a woman to shoot who had never even held a handgun before. I kid you not, her first group at the range was around 3 inches at 3 yards. Yeah, it was only 3 yards, but she had never even held a handgun before! I think that had very little to do with my teaching ability and a lot to do with the PPQ.

Concealed Carry

I carry the PPQ whenever I can properly conceal it, and I’m still very happy carrying it in my Theis IWB Holster. It’s been a pretty warm winter here in South Texas, so I’m not always able to wear enough clothing to properly conceal the PPQ. On those days, I carry my Kahr CM9.

Update 5/4/2012Check out our 3,000 Round Update

Gallery

,

11 Responses to Walther PPQ 2,000 Round Update

  1. Rob February 26, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    My only qualm about this pistol is that there seems to be a shortage of magazines available, and they’re expensive when you do manage to find them!

    • Brandon February 27, 2012 at 7:52 am #

      I know! Something that I’m going to test are the Magnum Research 15 round magazines, supposedly they work in the PPQ. I’ll order some and do a review and let you know if they work or not. If so, they are a MUCH cheaper option.

    • gene March 28, 2012 at 4:38 am #

      Hey Rob, I am pretty sure that the PPQ uses the same magazine as the P99 (sans red follower, and PPQ floor plate).

      • Brandon March 28, 2012 at 8:16 am #

        gene – you are correct, as long as they are the “newer” P99 mags, they are the same.

  2. Vash April 11, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    Hmmm been tempted this week to buy one. I had a PPS, hate myself for selling it, but now that I got a S&W BG38 for our great S. Texas summer for pocket carry, I’ll consider the PPQ as another option. It reminds me of the H&K P30 but at a reasonable price. What holsters are available for it currently that you know of?

    • Brandon April 11, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

      Well you probably won’t be able to pocket carry the PPQ of course (though it does fit into the pocket of my cargo shorts haha), but it is an excellent gun. There are some holsters available for it, several of which I am currently testing, so check back soon. In the meantime, here is a great leather/Kydex IWB option that we reviewed a few months back.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. eric April 20, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    just bought a ppq a few days ago, im going to do a review for my local forum after i put 1k-1.5k rounds through it next month.

    got to put 50 rounds through it today, loaded 5 rounds a mag to make it last a little longer, very sweet gun. My first 50 rounds were as accurate as my g17 was for me after i put 1k rounds through it.

    • Brandon April 20, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

      It seems that the secret is out on the PPQ. Such a great gun.

  4. michael April 26, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    Picked up a PPQ as my first gun last year. I will be hard pressed to find a gun to replace it as my EDC. They are just absolutely fantastic.

    • Brandon April 26, 2012 at 8:54 am #

      Well if it ain’t broke… :)

  5. ilias January 13, 2013 at 10:40 am #

    today i finished my tortured test with my ppq 9mm 3000 rounds no problems!after 12 guns i find what i want!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: