Top Categories

G-Code INCOG

The folks over at G-Code are known for making some of the most modular and unique Kydex holsters in the solar system, but up until recently, they didn’t offer many concealment options outside of a pocket holster and IWB adapter. That all changed when they introduced the INCOG.

Features

The INCOG is a unique Kydex holster system developed jointly with Haley Strategic Partners. The INCOG is a multi-positional inside the waistband (IWB) Kydex holster, but with a few features that set it apart from the competition.

Black FUZZ

The first thing you’ll likely notice that is different about the INCOG is the black FUZZ material attached to the Kydex. So what is black FUZZ? Well as near as I can tell, it’s some sort of synthetic suede material that has been laminated to standard .08″ Kydex, providing a comfort barrier between you and the Kydex. More on the FUZZ in a bit.

G-Code Clips

The INCOG uses G-Code clips as the belt attachment mechanism. As I said in my review of the PHLster ACCESS, G-Code clips are awesome. They’re injection molded, extremely durable, and make putting on/taking off the INCOG a breeze. They also have a negative angle designed to force the holster closer to the body, thereby reducing printing, and I can tell you that this works just as advertised.

Modularity and Options

G-Code INCOG with mag caddy

G-Code INCOG with mag caddy

Like most G-Code products, the INCOG is a highly modular system. This means that you can adjust the holster to fit your needs using the INCOG’s mounting points and variable mounting components.

One such option that demonstrates the INCOG’s modularity is the mag caddy. The mag caddy is essentially a mag holder that can be worn traditionally by itself, or can be attached to the INCOG via the mounting points, and worn as you see here. Prefer to wear your reload in a different position? No problem, simply detach the mag caddy from the INCOG holster via two screws, and wear it wherever you want.

The INCOG can also be adjusted for depth of carry, cant and security, by using either one or two G-Code clips.

Concealed Carry

G-Code INCOG

G-Code INCOG, no mag caddy

Let’s talk concealment, since that’s the primary focus of the INCOG system.

As you can tell from the photos, I carry primarily in the appendix position (AIWB), or “modified appendix” as some of you have graciously pointed out. Whatever your preferred carry position is, the INCOG carries extremely well. In fact, the INCOG is probably the most comfortable IWB Kydex holster that I own, which is due almost entirely to the black FUZZ coating. I’ll be honest, when I first saw the INCOG with the FUZZ coating, I wasn’t too sure about it. Now that I’ve tried the FUZZ though, I find myself not wanting to go back to bare nekked Kydex. You wouldn’t think it would make much of a difference, but in my opinion it’s definitely noticeable, and in a good way. It feels good up against the skin, and also seems to add just a touch of cushion. Not quite like a high quality leather holster, but closer than Kydex should be.

I’ve been asked by many of you how well the system conceals with the mag caddy attached, and I can tell you that for me, in the position that I carry, the answer is much better than you would think. In my case, the reason for this is that the mag caddy is attached to the side of the holster that is closer to the center of my body. You can see the mag caddy at roughly the 12:00 position in the photo above. On my body, carrying with the mag caddy attached does not cause the mag to print when carrying AIWB.

Comfort with the mag caddy attached isn’t much different either, surprisingly. Sure, I can tell that I’m wearing it, but it doesn’t make the rig uncomfortable. However as previously stated, you aren’t forced to use the mag caddy if you don’t want to. In the second photo above, you can see me carrying my Glock 19 without the mag caddy, using a single G-Code clip. At the time of writing, G-Code is selling the mag caddy as an add-on for $42.

Quality and Retention

Quality is everything you would expect from G-Code. The black FUZZ coating is uniform and smooth without adding bulk, the edges are smooth and the cut is minimal. G-Code’s quality is top notch. Retention is very subjective, but for me the INCOG is spot on, no adjustment needed, smooth coming in and out of the holster and yet secures with a distinctive click. Very well done.

Wrapping Up

If you couldn’t tell, I’m pretty excited about the INCOG. The folks over at G-Code and Haley Strategic really did a nice job on the design, and they came to market with a unique feature set that is well thought out and executed. At the time of writing the INCOG is being sold for $70, and $42 for the mag caddy. This is well in line with other comparable holsters, and worth every penny in my opinion.

You’re probably going to want one for each of your guns. I know I do.

, ,

53 Responses to G-Code INCOG

  1. Dan May 13, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

    Great review. I really like all the articles I’ve read here so far. Does the fuzz make this preferential over the PHLster Skeleton?

  2. Al Cohol May 13, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    Was really looking forward to this review as I have been eyeing the Incog, Phlster Skeleton and Access. I was carrying with a crossbreed for awhile, but its become a bit uncomfortable in the heat due to the size of the leather backing. So lately I’ve been carrying my Glock 19 in a Dale Frick ‘Zach’ holster (essentially a vanguard 1). While I like it, I would like something a bit more sturdy and with a little more coverage on the gun, just so it doesn’t move around as much.

    So my question is this Brandon, if you could only own one of the 3 holsters, which would it be?

    By the way, great review, as always!

    • Brandon May 13, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

      If I could choose only one, it would be the INCOG. Thanks!

      • Al Cohol July 1, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

        Just got my incog with mag caddy. All I have to say is these dudes nailed it. Put it on without the gun and mag in it and knew it was gonna great. I am surprised by how much the fuzz helps. Now I’ve got the gun and spare mag in and I’m completely sold on this thing. Thank you for the recommendation. This thing is comfy and conceals extremely well.

  3. kingof9x May 13, 2013 at 6:56 pm #

    Since you say that it conceals better than I would think, could you post some pictures of how well is conceals? All of your pictures have your shirt tucked in which definitely is not very concealed. This is one of the better write ups of this holster I have seen. I keep reading about how well it conceals, but I can’t find anybody who is willing to show how well it conceals.

    thanks you.

    • Brandon May 13, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

      Sure – I tend to not show photos of the gun covered by a shirt as I think that translates better to video, but I will post one to Facebook if you follow us there.

  4. Jeff May 13, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

    Very nice write up, you’ve got me in a difficult conundrum. I really want an INCOG but that PHLster Access review is making me think twice. It seems you were more excited for the INCOG review than the PHLster. But I think that is due to the extreme modularity of the INCOG (which is why I’m so interested in it). I know you probably won’t say but what is your favorite between the two?

    • Brandon May 13, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

      Oh I’ll say…both great holsters, but if I had to choose, I’d choose the INCOG.

  5. Aaron May 13, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    Thanks for the review, have been investigating the INCOG, know off to order one.

  6. Tom May 13, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

    You see PHLster’s INCOG mod they made where they shaved off the second mounting point? Looks really interesting!

  7. Travis May 14, 2013 at 6:15 am #

    I have been using the Incog everyday for about 2 months and ran it through a recent Mike Pannone Covert Carry class where we had over 500 draws from concealment. There were 2 other Incogs in the class as well. I feel at this time I have enough experience to comment. This is by far my favorite Appendix rig to date. It has all day comfort and the clips are awesome. The review is very fair so I won’t repeat but I would comment on the Mag caddy. Unless your stomach is extremely flat I found it causes mags to print in an extreme way. I like the idea and maybe when I finally drop the last 15lbs it will work well. because it is at your belly button any gut at all really pushes it out, probably an issue Brandon did not have from the picture. For now mag is back on my left hip and I wish I had not spent the $42 since the Safariland I use is only $8. I would recommend the holster 100% and add the mag caddy later if you feel you can make it work.

  8. TK May 14, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    Sounds like another great kydex holster option. I really like the idea of the fuzz, that seems like a game changer to me.

  9. Richard May 14, 2013 at 10:32 am #

    Brandon, have you worn the Bravo DOS? If so, how does it compare to this holster is concealability, comfort, and quality? Thanks.

    • Brandon May 14, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

      I have tried the DOS, but only for a S&W Shield. For the Shield, the DOS just didn’t work for me. The J hook mounting brackets sat too far above the cut of the holster and poked into the webbing of my fingers when trying to get a full firing grip.

      I have yet to try the DOS for a larger pistol. Looking at photos, I think the design lends itself better to larger pistols, but since I haven’t tried it I can’t recommend it.

  10. Ryan May 14, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    Can the mag caddy be removed and be worn separately with another clip?

    • Brandon May 14, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

      Yes it can, though to be honest I rarely do.

  11. Andrew May 14, 2013 at 3:22 pm #

    On their website they have the option of the half-guard or full-guard. What’s the difference and how does it affect the mag carrier add on?

  12. Jake May 14, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

    Great, now I REALLY want an INCOG…hope the wife doesn’t check the credit card statement!

  13. Travis May 14, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

    Brandon, thanks for the review. Question I have in regards to ride height. I am interested in getting the Incog, but wondering how much adjustment does it have in terms of depth. I have Skeletons for the XDS and M&P 9c – and like them both – but wish the gun rode a little lower. I like the grip to be close to the belt line because it helps w/ concealability. It’s a trade-off for a slightly slower draw and firing grip, but one I’m willing to make for increased concealment. (As an example another often used holster I run at the 4:30 position is the PJ Holster deep concealment w/ 30 degree cant.) Does the Incog adjust enough to bring it pretty low – in above pic I’m thinking a good 1/2″ lower – and will I need the four position clips to do it if its even possible?
    Thanks for any feedback!

  14. J May 14, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

    In the second picture, the one without the mag caddy, I only see one G-Code clip. It also looks like the holster is a “fold-over design made of a single sheet of kydex. I would really like to try the INCOG, but would prefer the single clipmsetup, just like inthe picture I mentioned. For the life of me, I can not find that option on the G-Code website. What am I missing?

    • Brandon May 14, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

      You’re not missing anything. Just don’t order the mag caddy (add-on option) and you’re good to go.

  15. Carl May 14, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

    Brandon, I have the Shield and have been running it in the Bravo DOS for about a month now. I keep switching it back and forth from 5:00 and appendix. It feels like it cuts into my back sometimes….and other times I can’t run appendix because the gun prints way to much on the grip. I am a stocky 5’6 guy and do have a thick back so I don’t know if this is why it is uncomfortable, or what? Any problems with yours in particular? I chose the DOS over the INCOG and obviously I am on here bc I am not fully satisfied. Also, the J hooks so far suck. Yes they conceal under my belt loop….but the holster is not tuckable so why would it even matter anyways?…. The J hooks also only work if you have a great belt to run with your set up so people really need to order the Cobra Duty belt from Original Special Operations Equipment. Also, the INCOG fuzz compared with the Bravo…..could this solve problems for me too? How is the INCOG at 5:00. Most reviews are only on Appendix, because it was designed in part to be superior for carrying by Travis Haley.

    • Brandon May 15, 2013 at 7:40 am #

      I don’t carry in the 5:00 position, but I have tried the INCOG there and it works fine. I just prefer appendix carry. What on the Shield is cutting into your back? Is it the gun or the holster? My guess is that it’s the rear sight, as they come way too sharp from the factory. Try wearing an undershirt to use as a layer between the gun and your back. I also took a file to my Shield’s rear sight to take it down just a bit, and as soon as the CLAW sights are available for the Shield I’m getting a set.

  16. Jose May 14, 2013 at 11:37 pm #

    Great write up Brandon! I’ve been using the incog for a while now and I’ve been very pleased! I am curious to try the mag caddy but I’m kind of hesitant because of the extra belly fat lol. But if anyone is interested here is a link to vid for a chubby guy’s perspective on the incog holster and appendix carry with the incog.

  17. Brennon May 16, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    B, is this a half guard or full. Sorry if this was already answered above?

  18. Jimmy May 16, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

    Brandon,
    What kind of belt would you recommend? How about the one pictured?

    • Brandon May 16, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

      The one I’m wearing is a new belt from Boxer Tactical. It will be released next week, as will my review. Highly recommended.

  19. Dave Cooper May 17, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

    Is it the Stryker Belt?

    • Brandon May 17, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

      No, a new belt from Boxer Tactical called the Zenith.

  20. DC May 17, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

    Nevermind……

  21. Stacy May 19, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    Is it the zephyr or zenith??

    • Brandon May 20, 2013 at 9:53 am #

      Zenith yes…model names are so much easier AFTER they are released haha.

      • Stacy May 22, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

        I just wanted to make sure I order the right one. Haha

      • Stacy May 23, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

        So after trying it out a while, would you recommend the half guard or full guard?

        • Brandon May 23, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

          I’ve always been a fan of full guard personally.

          • Stacy May 24, 2013 at 9:47 am #

            Thanks man. I have a full one coming for the Shield, but I was debating about which way to go for the Glock 19.

          • Jeff May 26, 2013 at 9:17 am #

            Brandon, why do you prefer the fullguard? I have been debating getting the full guard vs the half guard. But I haven’t seen anyone comment on it in any reviews. I run 10-8 Glock sights on my G19 and it has some sharp edges on the inside of the U-Notch that sometimes nicks my stomach when carrying AIWB. I would think the Full Guard would help prevent this but I don’t want it to hinder my drawstroke or grip. Thats why I went with the Combat cut on my Crossbreed SuperTuck. I’m looking to order one of these soon, i’m just torn on the cut HG vs. FG. Thanks Brandon!

          • Andy Winstead May 29, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

            If I got the full guard and wanted to shorten it, would that be a problem? How hard is it to cut and shape the Kydex

          • Brandon May 29, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

            No it’s not hard. Kydex is just plastic. A Dremel tool would make short work of it.

  22. Timothy Ivers May 29, 2013 at 1:44 pm #

    I have the INCOG full guard and love it. No problem acquiring a full grip. I also got the 4 hole clips for it to make better adjustments. I got the mag caddy and have no problem concealing with my Shield. Great holster! Only problem is that they don’t make them for all the guns I own.

  23. Brennon Paris May 29, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

    Brandon, I just received my Zenith and it’s awesome….however it’s a 1.75″ belt, is that the size of the one you’re wearing or no? I have to downsize to a larger anyway and was just inquiring?

    • Brandon May 29, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

      Yes they are only making a 1.75″ belt at this time (1.5″ coming sometime though).

      • Carl June 7, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

        1.5 belts at http://originalsoegear.com/15rigidcobrabelt.html. GREAT QUALITY AND COMPANY. Can Youtube a video showing two super duty trucks pulling each other with the belt and nothing breaking or happeneing to the belt.

        • Jake June 7, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

          LOL – you mean the felon who steals other people’s designs and act like a complete ass every chance he gets? That guy?

          • Carl June 8, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

            Yeah, that guy.

          • Carl June 8, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

            I was letting people know that a 1.5 great quality belt is available if they really want/need one. “LOL” at you, your post gives no one any value and clogs their minds with meaningless statements.

            SOE products quality…which I commented on…is very good. Putting aside any hate/accusing on the company…try their belt. Cory Erika Range Time Tactical has some videos on it. Just because someone is the 1st to come out with a product(like a belt for god’s sake), doesn’t mean they have exclusive rights to it. Apple wasn’t the first company to produce a smart phone….Every company took a backseat to them when they released theirs…

            That felon/ass produces some damn fine belts. Fine with me, as long as I get what I paid for and it works flawlessly every time.

            Where did he steal them from?…just curious as a consumer….

            Boxer Tactical Belts (in the picture at the top of this post) doesn’t even offer the Cobra buckle yet…Brandon got a sneak peak which is awesome. SOE has had it for how long now…

  24. Stacy June 1, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    Aww man!! Just got my zenith belt in but I’m going to have to go down a size…I guess that’s a good thing. Lol. I was right in between sizes and too big. Looks awesome though.

  25. Josh C. June 4, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

    I finally got mine yesterday for my M&P Shield. So far I am loving it. I went with the four holes for the ride height and without the extra magazine holder.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: